Skip to navigation Skip to content

Welcome to Hawthorn Year 6

Hawthorn Class 2016-2017

I am pleased to be teaching Year 6, Hawthorn class this year and I will be supported Monday-Wednesday by Mrs Davidson, while the end of the week is supported by Mrs Jarvis. Our lovely TAs will be working across both Hawthorn and Sycamore this year.

Our topic for Term 6 is: The Adventure – integrating transition skills, PSHE and Geography.

Please see the homework topic letter and topic web to support the learning. This also includes some useful websites to support this at home, alongside our classroom learning, library books available on loan (don’t forget about the village libraries too) and topic displays / books for the children to use. Furthermore, there is an overview of our annual topics with a brief overview of our learning, subject by subject, should you want to ‘get-ahead’.

Important dates for Term 6 2017:
Monday 5th June – INSET day for teachers only
Tuesday 6th June – Children return to school
Thursday 15th June – Green Rangers on a trip
Tuesday 27th June – All year 6s to Wallingford for secondary school transition workshop in the morning
Tuesday 27th June – All year 6s to enjoy a transition style drama in school, put on by Wallingford Drama Group
Wednesday 28th June – Year 5&6s ‘changes’ talk by the school nurse
Friday 30th June – Race for Life
Tuesday 4th July – Year 6s to Dorchester Abbey for all day transition event focusing on LOVE
5-7 July – Icknield Secondary School transition days
Saturday 8th July – Benson Summer Fayre
Monday 10th July – 2pm performance to the school & Ever Greens
Tuesday 11th July – 6pm performance for family and friends
Wednesday 12th July 2pm performance for family and friends
Thursday 13th July – Wallingford Secondary School transition day
Friday 14th July – KS2 Sports day all afternoon
Tuesday 18th July – Class swap morning – Y6s games
Wednesday 19th July – end of year reports to parents
Thursday 20th July – Year Leavers Assembly 2pm for family and friends
Friday 21st July – 10am Leavers Church Service. Break up 2:15PM

Please do not hesitate to speak to me if you have any concerns.
Mrs Mottram

E-Reading is also very important in this modern age and I highly recommend reading for research on screen as well as in books. Here is a great, website where there are 18 free
e-books for ages 9-11 years. www.oxfordowl.co.uk
login: hawthornbenson
password: password
Happy E-Reading.

Please look below for letters and PPTs for parent meetings / information as well as weekly spelling lists.